New committee elected following AGM

Newcastle Comhaltas hosted their annual AGM on the 23rd of October 2016. This year’s meeting was fantastically attended by many members of the branch, and we were pleased to welcome members who hadn’t previously attended any prior AGMs.

Newcastle CCÉ were pleased to welcome a guest speaker from the Ulster Comhaltas Committee, James McCaffrey. James spoken to the attendees before presenting various awards to members of the branch. There were many certificates awarded to members who recently passed their London College of Music exams for grade 1 to 8. James remarked on the number of members who passed their exams, and stated they were a credit to their branch.

James also awarded 7 members and families of the branch with a commemorative 1916 Proclamation. This Proclamation was presented to members or families who have given exceptional service to culture including music, song, dance, language and contribution to charity.

The new Committee for 2017:

  • Chairperson: Roisin Howell
  • Assistant Chairperson: Paul Rush
  • Treasurer: Terry Cowan
  • Assistant Treasurer: Brenda Maguire
  • Secretary: Karin McVeigh
  • Membership Officer: Sharon McCawley-Breen
  • PRO: Siobhan Walsh
  • Assistant PRO: Matthew McAstocker
  • Child Protection Officers: Cara Maginn, Paddy Breen
  • Treoraí na Gaeilge: Megan Rush
  • Youth Officer: Niamh Howell
  • Delegates to County Board: Terry and Patricia Cowan


Members of the Newcastle CCÉ committee for 2017 pictured with guest speaker James McCaffrey


Recipients of LCM examination certificates, pictured with tutor Vivienne Mulcahy

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *